Applied Mathematics Research Group

Research Faculty

  • Todd J. Arbogast arbogast@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Modeling and Numerical Analysis of Partial Differential Equations and Scientific Computing.
  • Ivo M. Babuska babuska@ices.utexas.edu: Research interests include Numerical Solution of Partial Differential Equations, Computational Problems of Solid Mechanics, Computational Science, and the Theory of Partial Differential Equations.
  • Robert S. Boyer boyer@cs.utexas.edu: Research interests include Program Verification, Automatic Theorem Proving, and Artificial Intelligence.
  • Luis Caffarelli caffarel@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Harmonic Analysis, Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations, Free Boundary Problems, and Homogenization.
  • Thomas Chen tc@math.utexas.edu: Research area includes analysis and mathematical physics, in particular spectral and dynamical problems in quantum field theory, random Schrödinger operators, macroscopic scaling limits of quantum dynamics, and Hamiltonian dynamics
  • Alan K. Cline cline@cs.utexas.edu: Research interests include Mathematical Software, Numerical Analysis, and Scientific Computing.
  • Bjorn Engquist engquist@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Computational Mathematics, Computational Science, Numerical Analysis, and Applied Mathematics.
  • Irene Martinez Gamba gamba@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Applied Mathematics, Partial Differential Equations.
  • Gonzalez, Oscar og@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Computational and Applied Mathematics, Mechanics, and modeling the mechanical properties of DNA at various length scales.
  • Hans Koch koch@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Mathematical Physics, Statistical Mechanics, Dynamical Systems.
  • Mark M. Maxwell maxwell@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Actuarial Science Education and Probability.
  • J. Tinsley Oden oden@ticam.utexas.edu: Research interests include Numerical Computation and Partial Differential Equations.
  • Charles Radin radin@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Mathematical Physics and Discrete Geometry.
  • Kui Ren ren@math.utexas.edu: Research interests includes applied PDE, scientific computing, theory and numerical methods for inverse problems of PDEs and applications and propagation of high frequency waves in random media and related imaging problems.
  • Lorenzo Sadun sadun@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include quantum mechanics, nonperiodic tilings, adiabatic limits of wave equations, and other problems of bith physical and geometric interest.
  • Yen-Hsi Richard Tsai ytsai@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Computational Mathematics, Computational Science, Numerical Analysis, and Applied Mathematics.
  • Alexis Vasseur vasseur@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Partial Differential Equations, Navier-Stokes equations, Hyperbolic conservation laws, Kinetic equations, and Hydrodynamic limits.
  • Mikhail M. Vishik vishik@math.utexas.edu: Research interests include Mathematical Problems of Fluid Dynamics, and Partial Differential Equations.
  • Mary F. Wheeler mfw@ices.utexas.edu: Research interests include Numerical Analysis and Partial Differential Equations.