Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Research Faculty

  • Daniel S. Freed (dafr@math.utexas.edu): Research interests include global analysis, differential geometry, relations with quantum field theory and string theory.
  • Robert E. Gompf (gompf@math.utexas.edu): Research interests include topology of 4-manifolds, gauge theory and its applications to topology, topology of algebraic surfaces, symplectic topology, and contact geometry.
  • Cameron McA. Gordon (gordon@math.utexas.edu): Research interests include manifold topology, with particular emphasis on knot theory and 3-dimensional manifolds. Dr. Gordon's future research plans are to continue working on problems in low-dimensional manifold topology, especially those related to classical knot theory.
  • Gary C. Hamrick (hamrick@math.utexas.edu): Research interests include the relations between the geometry and the topology of manifolds.
  • Sean M. Keel (keel@math.utexas.edu): Research interests include Algebraic Geometry, particularly Mori's program, GIT, moduli problems, and intersection theory.
  • John E. Luecke (luecke@math.utexas.edu): Research interests include the topology and geometry of 3-dimensional spaces. In particular the study of how the operation of "Dehn surgery" on a knot in 3-dimensional space affects the topology of the space. He has also spent time working with the application of topology to biology in understanding the knotting of DNA. 
  • Lorenzo Sadun (sadun@math.utexas.edu): Research interests include quantum mechanics, nonperiodic tilings, adiabatic limits of wave equations, and other problems of bith physical and geometric interest.
  • Michael P. Starbird (starbird@math.utexas.edu): Research interests include low dimensional geometric topology and topics in mathematics education - particularly how to make mathematics accessible to the general public.