Seminars & Announcements

Wednesday Apr 23 2014

previous day04/23next day
12:00 p 8.136 Geometry & String Theory
Tom Mainiero: Get Stoked about Stokes Groupoids
1:00 p 10.176 Analysis Seminar
Paolo Marcellini: Elliptic and parabolic systems with general growth
2:00 p 10.176 Thesis Defense
Tian Ding: Numerical Algorithms for Inverse Problems in Acoustics and Optics
2:00 p 12.166 Thesis Defense
Sam Taylor: Geometric properties of outer automorphism groups of free groups
3:00 p 9.166 Group Actions & Dynamics
Sukhpreet Singh: Orbit equivalence and the Von Neumann-Day problem
4:00 p 5.104 Faculty Colloquium
David Ben-Zvi: Geometric Harmonic Analysis

Celebration of Excellence

Dean Hicke has announced the names to be honored at an event tomorrow April 23d, 3-5pm in San Jacinto Residence Hall Multi-Purpose Room. This will celebrate College-wide staff and faculty Excellence.

Mathematics has several people on the list of honorees, congratulations to all!

  • Sandra Catlett --- President’s Outstanding Staff Award.
  • Amir Mohammadi --- Sloan Fellow
  • Luis Caffarelli --- Steele Prize from the American Mathematical Society for "Seminal Contribution to Research"
  • Jane Arledge --- Dads' Association Centennial Teaching Fellowship and also President's Associates Teaching Excellence
  • Elizabeth Stepp --- Regents Outstanding Teaching Award
  • Mark Daniels --- CNS Teaching Award
  • Mark Maxwell --- CNS Teaching Award
  • Jennifer Berg -- Natural Sciences Council (NSC) TA Award.
  • John Dollard and Jim Vick --- retired faculty.

Upcoming Conferences

We are Texas

Kinetics, non-standard diffusions and stochastics: emerging challenges in the sciences

April 21 - May 16, 2014, UT Austin


Geometric structures and discrete groups

May 2 - May 4, 2014, UT Austin


Simons Workshop on Stochastic Geometry and Point Processes

May 5 - May 8, 2014, UT Austin



Latest News

Inderjit Dhillon

Inderjit Dhillon has been named a 2014 SIAM fellow

April 22 , 2014

Inderjit Dhillon who holds a courtesy appointment in the Department of Mathematics has been selected as a 2014 Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

More info

Mirela Ciperiani

Ciperiani wins a NSF CAREER award

April 15 , 2014

Mirela Ciperiani has been awarded a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award.

Read More

Francois Baccelli

ACM award for Francois Baccelli

April 14 , 2014

Francois Baccelli has been awarded the 2014 ACM SIGMETRICS Achievement Award, for his "fundamental contributions to stochastic geometry and to discrete-event dynamic system theory for the analysis of computer/communication systems".

Read More

US News

UT Math ranked 14th by US News

March 11 , 2014

UT Math department retained its ranking as #14 by US News & World Report. Three of our programs are ranked top ten in the rankings: Analysis (#8), Applied Math (#10) and Topology (#8).

Amir Mohammadi

Amir Mohammadi awarded a Sloan Fellowship

February 18 , 2014

Amir Mohammadi has been awarded a 2014 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship. A list of this years fellows is available at

Irene Gamba

Irene Gamba to give 2014 Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture

January 23, 2014

Professor Irene Gamba has been invited by the Association for Women in Mathematics and Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) to be the 2014 Sonia Kovalevsky Lecturer. The Kovalevsky Lectures honor women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to applied or computational mathematics.

Irene will deliver the lecture at the 2014 SIAM Annual Meeting in Chicago in July 2014.

Read More

Luis Caffarelli

Caffarelli awarded Steele Prize

December 5 , 2013

Luis Caffarelli (along with collaborators Robert Kohn, and Louis Nirenberg) have been awarded the 2014 AMS Steele Prize for a Seminal Contribution to Research.

Read More


Figalli and Zariphopoulou to speak ICM 2014

September 5 , 2013

Two of our faculty members, Alessio Figalli and Thaleia Zariphopoulou have been invited to speak at ICM 2014, in the sections on Analysis and Applications and Mathematics in Science and Technology respectively.

Read More