Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the Department of Mathematics

David Ben-Zvi featured in Quanta Magazine

The recent breakthrough work of Professor David Ben-Zvi and his collaborators is featured in Quanta Magazine


Welcoming New Faculty: Conway, Dai, Miller, Piccirillo

We are delighted to welcome Anthony Conway, Irving Dai, Maggie Miller, and Lisa Piccirillo to our tenure stream faculty.

The research areas of our new colleagues are in Topology, and they will arrive at UT in Fall 2023.

Anthony Conway is joining us from a postdoctoral appointment at MIT.

Irving Dai is joining us from an NSF postdoctoral appointment at Stanford University.

Maggie Miller was awarded a Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontier Award in 2023, and a Clay Research Fellowship in 2021. She is currently a Clay Fellow at Stanford University.

Lisa Piccirillo was awarded a Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontier Award, a Clay Research Fellowship, and a Sloan Fellowship, all in 2021. She is currently an Assistant Professor at MIT.

Cameron Gordon elected to the National Academy of Sciences

We congratulate Professor Cameron Gordon most warmly on his election to the National Academy of Sciences




Luis Caffarelli wins 2023 Abel Prize

Professor Luis A. Caffarelli, Holder of the Sid W. Richardson Foundation Regents Chair in Mathematics #1, is the winner of the 2023 Abel Prize, in recognition for his «seminal contributions to regularity theory for nonlinear partial differential equations including
free-boundary problems and the Monge–Ampère equation». We warmly congratulate Luis for this amazing honor.

Home | The Abel Prize





Maksym Radziwill wins 2023 AMS Cole Prize in Number Theory 

We are delighted to congratulate Prof Maksym Radziwill for winning the highly prestigious 2023 AMS Cole Prize in Number Theory, which is awarded every three years